In Nevada, state legislation is particularly harsh on kids (minors) who get arrested for DUI. This is the primary reason the state upholds what’s referred to as ‘zero tolerance’ policy regarding underage DUI crimes. This is a legal standard that maintains that a minor (someone under the age of 21) can be convicted of a misdemeanor DUI if they are caught being in physical control of a vehicle or were driving under the influence of illegal substances.
If the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of the minor was .02% at the time they were driving or in control of the vehicle, they will be arrested. Though the legal BAC limit for an adult is .08 percent, it wouldn’t matter if the teen or minor was under the influence of drugs or not. Instead, the prosecutor will only need to prove that the kid’s BAC measured in excess of .02 percent, and it’s jail time for your teen. This is the reason you should seek the help of an experienced Las Vegas DUI lawyer if your child has been arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Underage DUI: first offense
Even if you have never been pulled for a DUI before, your first-time underage DUI crime can still carry heavy penalties. You will be asked to submit to a thorough substance abuse evaluation to determine whether you have alcohol and other drugs abuse problems. Besides, you may face hefty fines and prison sentence. The punishments for underage first time DUI include;
- Up to six days in jail
- Fine ranging from $400 to $1000
- Suspension of your driving license for 90 days
Note that the license suspension is a guaranteed punishment for all underage first time DUI charges.
Underage DUI: second crime
In case you were once convicted of DUI, and you have been arrested for a similar crime, you are likely to face stiff consequences. Note that you don’t have to be still underage to obtain the second crime penalties; it has to be within at least 7 years of your first DUI charge. That means if you were charged with first time DUI offense at 21 years, then you get charged for similar crimes at 26 years, your second offense will be treated like a second DUI offense. In Nevada, here are the punishments for second underage DUI charge.
- About 10 days to 6 months in jail
- Fine ranging from $750 to $1000
- Driver license suspension for 90 days
Generally, the penalties driving under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance are very stiff. What’s more, the Nevada DUI laws open you up to additional charges, some of which are criminal, mainly if you engage in dangerous behavior. For example, if you (an underage driver) offered alcohol to another minor in some way, owns a fake identity card or solicited alcohol or other drugs, you may be opening yourself for further criminal charges.
Most auto insurance service providers in Nevada will raise your premiums after an underage driving under influence violation. Besides, the minor will live with the stigma of being convicted of serious crimes such as DUI.